Andrée: Two Chamber Works

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Elfrida Andrée
Two Chamber Works
Piano Trio in C Minor and Piano Quartet in A Minor

Edited by Katherine L. Axtell

N040 Andrée: Two Chamber Works
978-0-89579-556-4 Full Score (2004) 9x12, xv + 121 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2004)
Set of 2 parts (vn.; vc.)

Instrumental Part(s) (2004)
Set of 3 parts (vn.; va.; vc.)
In an era when few women attempted to forge careers as professional musicians, Elfrida Andrée (1841–1929) persevered. In addition to serving as the first female cathedral organist in her native Sweden, Andrée composed prolifically throughout her lifetime. Her works range in scope from individual lieder and piano character pieces to cantatas and symphonies, and suggest diverse stylistic influences, including her teachers Ludvig Norman and Niels Gade, as well as the music of Richard Wagner and Claude Debussy. Unfortunately, Andrée published few of her compositions during her lifetime. The appearance of Andrée’s works in modern editions will allow for a more comprehensive understanding of musical activity in nineteenth-century Scandinavia, as well as a richer appreciation of the roles women composers throughout Europe played in shaping the musical landscape. This edition presents Andrée’s Piano Trio in C Minor (1860) and Piano Quartet in A Minor (1865; revised 1870), two important works from the early years of her career.
Piano Trio in C Minor
     I. Allegro
    II. Larghetto ma non troppo
   III. Scherzo: Allegro molto
   IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco

Piano Quartet in A Minor
     I. Allegro molto moderato
    II. Adagio con espressione
   III. Finale: Allegro