Arias for Nancy Storace

Series: Classical Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Arias for Mozart's Singers
Click for samples
Arias for Nancy Storace
Mozart's First Susanna

Edited by Dorothea Link

C066 Arias for Nancy Storace
978-0-89579-516-8 Keyboard-Vocal Score (2002) 9x12, xxv + 122 pp.
In stock
This collection of fifteen arias for soprano by various composers portrays the voice of Nancy Storace (1765–1817), the singer for whom Mozart wrote the role of Susanna in Le nozze di Figaro. Written in an age when composers still tailored their arias to particular singers, these arias give an idea of the kind of roles and style of arias that Storace sang.
Three arias are large-scale showcase arias in the seria style, which Storace cultivated at the beginning of her career. The twelve that make up the bulk of the collection are in a vocally simpler, more lyrical style, which Storace eventually came to prefer. In this she was encouraged by Mozart, who fit "Deh vieni" especially to her abilities.
Digital Print is also available for this title.
1. Ah non è ver che in seno, Antonio Salieri
2. Ahimè! dove m'inoltro—Non potrò del caro bene, Giuseppe Sarti—Anonymous
3. Compatite miei signori, Stephen Storace
4. Che novità—Come lasciar potrei, Giovanni Paisiello
5. Fra quest'orror—Ma tarde le lagrime, Stephen Storace
6. D'un dolce amor la face, Antonio Salieri
7. La ra la ra, che filosofo buffon, Antonio Salieri
8. Non dubitar—Là tu vedrai, Giuseppe Sarti
9. Giunse alfin il momento—Deh vieni, non tardar, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
10. Dolce mi parve un dì, Vicente Martín y Soler
11. Qual confusion—Potessi di piangere, Stephen Storace
12. Chi mi mostra, chi m'addita, Giovanni Paisiello
13. Care donne che bramate, Stephen Storace
14. Beaux Yeux—Jeunes Coeurs soyez fideles, Stephen Storace
15. With Lowly Suit, Stephen Storace
Laurel E. Zeiss, Society for Eighteenth-Century Music newsletter, October 2005.
Emma Kirkby, Early Music, May 2003;
Julian Rushton, Music & Letters, 85/4, Nov. 2004.
Constance Mayer, Notes, June 2004