Beach: Quartet for Strings, Op. 89

Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions, American Musicological Society
Click for samples
Amy Beach
Quartet for Strings (in One Movement), Opus 89

Edited by Adrienne Fried Block

MU03/A023 Beach: Quartet for Strings, Op. 89
978-0-89579-291-4 Full Score (1994) 9x12, xxxii + 58 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2000)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; vc.)
Recognized as America's leading woman composer in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, Amy Beach (1867–1944) belonged to the Second New England School of composers. Her one-movement Quartet for Strings, opus 89, a lean yet lyrical work of great originality, incorporates Alaskan Inuit melodies as thematic material. Completed in 1929, the Quartet was one of Beach's few unpublished works. This edition, which includes a facsimile of the 1921 draft score, makes the work available for the first time. Winner of the MPA Paul Revere Award, 1995.
Victor Fell Yellin, Notes, June 1996