My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Beach: The Sea-Fairies, Op. 59

Amy Beach
The Sea-Fairies, Opus 59
Edited by Andrew Thomas Kuster
Beach: The Sea-Fairies, Op. 59
Full Score (1999)
9x12, xiii + 73 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $80.00

Sale Price $64.00


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Keyboard-Vocal Score (2018)
Set of 1 part (piano-vocal score)

Regular Price: $52.00

Sale Price $41.60

Over a third of the output of Amy Beach (1867–1944) is music for chorus, including sacred and secular works with accompaniment and for a capella performance. She also wrote music for choral societies and clubs. Along with two other works for chorus and orchestra commissioned by choral societies (The Rose of Avon-Town [1896] and The Chambered Nautilus [1907]), The Sea-Fairies, composed and orchestrated in 1904, exhibits Beach's great craftsmanship in scoring for women's voices and in setting poetry. This single-movement cantata for four-part women's chorus, three soloists, orchestra, and harp is an elegant setting of The Sea-Fairies by Alfred, Lord Tennyson. Beach's colorful orchestration and melodious vocal writing portray the lure of the sirens from Homer's Odyssey. This edition makes the full score available for the first time.
Catherine Parsons Smith, Notes, June 2002; Peter Dickinson, Music & Letters, v. 83:2
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions