My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Bononcini: Twelve Chamber Sonatas

Giovanni Bononcini
Twelve Chamber Sonatas (London, 1732)
Edited by Jeffrey Noonan
Bononcini: Twelve Chamber Sonatas
Full Score (2012)
9x12, xiii + 87 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (2012)
Set of 3 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; b.)
A prolific composer of operas and cantatas, cello virtuoso Giovanni Bononcini (1670–1747) pursued a peripatetic career in European capitals including Vienna, Rome, London, and Paris. Remembered principally as an operatic rival of Handel in London, Bononcini also wrote instrumental music that exhibits the same early galant character as his vocal works. Published in 1732, the last year of a decade spent in London, the Twelve Chamber Sonatas reflect an awareness of Corelli, but point beyond the high baroque style to the later eighteenth century. Scored for two violins and continuo, these sonatas eschew rigorous counterpoint and high baroque dance forms for sweet melodies and genteel minuets. Drawn from partbooks, this first complete edition of all twelve sonatas offers performers access to music characterized by Lowell Lindgren as epitomizing the “touchstone of taste at the turning point [between stylistic periods] around 1700.”
Sonata No. 1 in F Major
Sonata No. 2 in G Minor
Sonata No. 3 in D Major
Sonata No. 4 in B-flat Major
Sonata No. 5 in C Major
Sonata No. 6 in A Major
Sonata No. 7 in C Minor
Sonata No. 8 in G Major
Sonata No. 9 in B Minor
Sonata No. 10 in E Major
Sonata No. 11 in D Minor
Sonata No. 12 in F Minor
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions