Brehy: Instrumental Works

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Petrus Hercules Brehy
Instrumental Works
From the Library of the Royal Conservatories, Brussels

Edited by Lewis Reece Baratz

B215 Brehy: Instrumental Works
978-1-9872-0617-3 Full Score (2021) 9x12, xvii + 151 pp.
In stock
Brussels native Petrus Hercules Brehy (1673–1737) composed twelve sonatas for two violins, viola, basso viola, and continuo around 1715–22, and two sonatas for five instruments and continuo approximately ten years later, all during his tenure as zangmeester of the Collegiate Church of SS. Michael and Gudula. Since 1929 the autograph manuscripts have been conserved at the Library of the Royal Conservatories of Music, Brussels. Unlike Brehy’s earlier symphonias, these were not published during his lifetime and were written to be played by a mix of professional musicians, able clerics, and older choirboys. Six of the twelve sonatas for four instruments and continuo reflect the earlier polyphonic ensemble sonata da chiesa of the late seventeenth century, four feature the violin in more flamboyant soloistic passagework, and two contain elements of both idioms. The two sonates à 5 are consistent with the late Baroque international style. All the sonatas in this volume reflect the somewhat conservative religious style of a Habsburg Empire territory capital during the early eighteenth century.
Sonatas for Two Violins, Viola, Basso Viola, and Continuo
Sonata No. 1 in G Minor
Sonata No. 2 in A Major
Sonata No. 3 in C Major
Sonata No. 4 in D Minor
Sonata No. 5 in E Minor
Sonata No. 6 in A Minor
Sonata No. 7 in C Minor
Sonata No. 8 in F Major
Sonata No. 9 in B Minor
Sonata No. 10 in B-flat Major
Sonata No. 11 in D Major
Sonata No. 12 in G Major
Sonates à 5
Sonate à 5 in G Major (Three Violins, Viola, Basso Viola, and Continuo)
Sonate à 5 in G Minor (Oboe, Strings, and Continuo)