Buck: Selected Organ Works

Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Dudley Buck
Selected Organ Works

Edited by N. Lee Orr

A063 Buck: Selected Organ Works
978-0-89579-630-1 Full Score (2008) 9x12, xvii + 108 pp.
In stock
One of Victorian America's most beloved and respected composers, Dudley Buck (1839–1909) played a crucial role in the coming of age of American music following the Civil War. This volume of his most popular organ works is the first scholarly edition of these pieces. A conductor, organist, and teacher, Buck was the first American to write professional, accessible, and popular organ music, as well as a wealth of choral music, including anthems, cantatas, and partsongs (see MU14/A053). N. Lee Orr's careful, authoritative edition presents Buck's two organ sonatas and four concert variations, introduced by an informative essay on Buck's life and the development of American organs and organ music.
Grand Sonata in E-flat, Op. 22
  I. Allegro con brio
  II. Andante espressivo
  III. Scherzo. Vivace non troppo
  IV. Finale. Allegro maestoso

Sonata No. 2, Op. 77
  I. Allegro moderato ma energico
  II. Adagio molto espressivo
  III. Allegro vivace non troppo

Variations on a Scotch Air, Op. 51

Variations on "The Last Rose of Summer," Op. 59

Variations on "Old Folks at Home"

Concert Variations on "The Star-Spangled Banner," Op. 23