Butler: Collected Works

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Henry Butler
Collected Works

Edited by Elizabeth V. Phillips

B066 Butler: Collected Works
978-0-89579-263-1 Full Score (1991) 9x12, xx + 122 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts

Instrumental Part(s) (1991)
Set of 2 parts (vn.; bass viol)
Henry Butler was a virtuoso viol player from England employed at the Spanish court. His music combines an English approach to writing for the viol with an Italian style of ensemble composition. These twenty works, mostly divisions on grounds for the bass viol, also include four compositions for violin, bass viol, and basso continuo. Butler's sonatas are among the earliest examples of that genre written by an English-born composer, and one work is arguably the earliest sonata for bass viol and basso continuo.
Divisions in C Major (3 sets)
Divisions in D Major
Divisions in D Minor (2 sets)
Prelude in E Minor
Divisions in E Minor
Prelude in F Major
Divisions in F Major (2 sets)
Divisions in F Major/D Minor
Divisions in G Major
Divisions in A Minor (2 sets)
Sonata in E Minor
Aria in E Minor
Sonata in F Major
Sonata in G Major
Sonata in G Minor
Robert Ford, Notes, December 1994; Andrew Ashbee, Music & Letters, November 1992; Alison Crum, Chelys, 1992