Chadwick: String Quartets Nos. 1–3

Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Chadwick: String Quartets
Click for samples
George Whitefield Chadwick
String Quartets Nos. 1–3

Edited by Marianne Betz

A058 Chadwick: String Quartets Nos. 1–3
978-0-89579-587-8 Full Score (2006) 9x12, xiii + 216 pp.
Special Price $152.00 Regular Price $190.00
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2006)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; vc.)
Special Price $25.60 Regular Price $32.00

Instrumental Part(s) (2006)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; vc)
Special Price $30.40 Regular Price $38.00

Instrumental Part(s) (2006)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; vc.)
Special Price $20.80 Regular Price $26.00
George Whitefield Chadwick (1854–1931) is one of the most important American composers of the second half of the nineteenth century. His five string quartets must be regarded as a major contribution to the repertoire of chamber music in general, but particularly to the corpus of American music after 1870. The first two quartets were written in 1878 and 1879, respectively, while Chadwick was still a student at the Leipzig conservatory. The third quartet, dedicated to the composer Arthur Foote, a colleague and friend of Chadwick's, was finished in 1886.
As a student Chadwick had already emphasized the importance of a personal familiarity with string instruments for composing. Contact with outstanding performers like the famous Kneisel Quartet provided a further stimulus to Chadwick's chamber music production. Although his student works already show an astonishing individuality in construction and sonority, none of the first three quartets was printed during his lifetime. The practical difficulty of gaining access to scores and parts, which has discouraged performers from playing and experiencing the music, will be solved by this edition, which will make the quartets publicly available for the first time.
String Quartet No. 1 in G Minor
I. Allegro con brio
II. Andante non troppo lento
III. Menuetto: Poco vivace
IV. Finale: Allegro ma non troppo
String Quartet No. 2 in C Major
I. Andante; Allegro con brio
II. Andante espressivo ma non troppo lento
III. Scherzo: Allegro risoluto ma moderato
IV. Finale: Allegro molto vivace
String Quartet No. 3 in D Major
I. Allegro di molto
II. Tema con variazioni: Adagio
III. Allegretto semplice
IV. Finale: Allegro vivace