Chadwick: Two Overtures

Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
George Whitefield Chadwick
Two Overtures
Rip Van Winkle (1879) and Adonais (1899)

Edited by Bill F. Faucett

A055 Chadwick: Two Overtures
978-0-89579-571-7 Full Score (2005) 9x12, xv + 222 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Rental Parts (2012)
Set of 50 parts: 2222 4230 timp 88664

Rental Parts (2012)
Set of 54 parts: 3222 4231 timp. b.dr. hp. 88664
This edition presents two previously unpublished compositions by the Boston composer George Whitefield Chadwick (1854–1931). Since its 1879 premiere, the Rip Van Winkle Overture, in both the original version published here for the first time and its revision from the 1920s, has generated universal admiration. Adonais, Elegiac Overture (1899), composed twenty years later, is largely unknown, although Chadwick himself counted it among his finest compositions. Both overtures effectively demonstrate Chadwick’s command of traditional forms, his brilliant melodic imagination, and a superb gift for orchestration. The accompanying essay examines the history of both overtures, featuring a detailed formal and stylistic analysis that takes into account Chadwick’s own thoughts on them and their reception histories.
Charles S. Freeman, Journal of Musicological Research, March 2008.