Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies, Part 1

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
This volume is part of the set Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies
Click for samples
Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies, Part 1
Symphonies Nos. 1, 3, and 5 Arranged for Quartet Ensembles

Edited by Nancy November

N075 Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies, Part 1
978-1-9872-0283-0 Full Score (2019) 9x12, xx + 302 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2019)
Set of 4 partbooks (vn. 1, vn. 2, va., vc.)

Instrumental Part(s) (2019)
Set of 3 partbooks (vn., va., vc.)

Instrumental Part(s) (2019)
Set of 3 partbooks (fl., vn., vc.)
The three arrangements in this edition of quartet arrangements of Beethoven’s symphonies are chosen to represent the diversity of quartets as a medium for arrangement in the early nineteenth century. Only the arrangement by Carl Zulehner, of Beethoven’s first symphony, is a string quartet. The arrangement by Johann Nepomuk Hummel of Beethoven’s fifth symphony, for pianoforte, flute, violin, and violoncello (or pianoforte alone), is part of an extensive collection of arrangements that he made for that grouping, while the arrangement for piano quartet by Ferdinand Ries of the Eroica Symphony represents the particular popularity of chamber groupings involving stringed instruments and piano.
Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21, Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. Carl Zulehner
  I. Adagio molto; Allegro con brio
 II. Cantabile: Andante con moto
III. Menuetto: Allegro molto e vivace
IV. Finale: Adagio; Allegro molto e vivace
Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 55 (Eroica), Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. Ferdinand Ries
  I. Allegro con brio
 II. Marcia funebre: Adagio assai
III. Menuetto Scherzo: Allegro vivace
IV. Finale: Allegro molto; Poco andante; Presto
Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67, Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. Johann Nepomuk Hummel
  I. Allegro con brio
 II. Andante con moto
III. Scherzo: Allegro
IV. Allegro; Presto