Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies, Part 3

Series: 19th and Early 20th Centuries  Publisher: A-R Editions
This volume is part of the set Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies
Click for samples
Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies, Part 3
Symphonies Nos. 2, 4, and 6 Arranged for Large Ensembles

Edited by Nancy November

N079 Chamber Arrangements of Beethoven's Symphonies, Part 3
978-1-9872-0454-4 Full Score (2020) 9x12, xvi + 413 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2020)
Set of 9 parts (fl., hn. 1, hn. 2, vn. 1, vn. 2, va. 1, va. 2, vc., cb.)

Instrumental Part(s) (2020)
Set of 7 parts (fl., vn. 1, vn. 2, va. 1, va. 2, vc., cb.)

Instrumental Part(s) (2020)
Set of 6 parts (vn. 1, vn. 2, va. 1, va. 2, vc. 1, vc. 2)
This volume represents two important aspects of early-nineteenth-century taste in chamber music: a predilection for “mixed” groupings, including winds and strings; and a preference for larger groupings, including nonets. The sheer number of such works composed, along with data from publishing catalogs and concert programs, is evidence of the contemporary taste for varied chamber music. The present volume gives a selection of three large-scale chamber arrangements of Beethoven’s symphonies. Michael Gotthard Fischer’s arrangement of the sixth symphony for string sextet provides an example of this less common format. The nonet arrangement of the second symphony for flute, two horns, two violins, two violas, cello, and bass by Ferdinand Ries shows the flexibility of performance forces in this repertoire as well as the publishers’ and composers’ desires to capitalize on their popularity, given that this arrangement can be performed with or without the addition of winds. The arrangement of the fourth symphony by William Watts stands between the sextet and nonet arrangements noted above in its combination of one flute with six strings.
Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36, Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. Ferdinand Ries
  I. Adagio; Allegro con brio
 II. Larghetto quasi andante
III. Scherzo: Allegro
IV. Allegro molto
Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Op. 60, Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. William Watts
  I. Adagio; Allegro vivace
 II. Adagio
III. Menuetto: Allegro vivace
IV. Allegro ma non troppo
Symphony No. 6 in F Major, Op. 68 (Pastoral), Ludwig van Beethoven, arr. Michael Gotthard Fischer
   I. Erwachen heiterer Empfindungen bei der Ankunft auf dem Lande: Allegro ma non troppo
 II. Szene am Bach: Andante molto moto
III. Lustiges Zusammensein der Landleute: Allegro
IV. Donner—Sturm: Allegro
 V. Hirtengesang: Frohe und dankbare Gefühle nach dem Sturm: Allegretto