Charpentier: Vocal Chamber Music

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Marc-Antoine Charpentier
Vocal Chamber Music

Edited by John S. Powell

B048 Charpentier: Vocal Chamber Music
978-0-89579-202-0 Full Score (1986) 9x12, xxi + 98 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2009)
Set of 5 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; fl. a bec; fl. allemande; viole)

Instrumental Part(s) (2009)
Set of 3 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; b.)

These seven chamber works, Italianate in style and important predecessors to the cantate française of the eighteenth century, offer fresh insight into the oeuvre of a composer remembered chiefly for his operas, sacred oratorios, and masses. The pieces are scored for one to six voices with various obbligato instruments.
Orphée descendant aux enfers
Cantate françoise de M. Charpentier
Serenata a tre voci e simphonia
Superbo amore
Il mondo così và
Beate mie pene
Epitaphium Carpentarij
Robert Ford, Notes, June 1987; Graham Sadler, Music & Letters, May 1989; Richard Langham Smith, Early Music, May 1990