Chadwick: String Quartets

String Quartets of George Whitefield Chadwick
George Whitefield Chadwick (1854-1931) is one of the most important American composers of the second half of the nineteenth century. His five string quartets must be regarded as a major contribution to the repertoire of chamber music in general, but particularly to the corpus of American music after 1870. The first two quartets were written in 1878 and 1879, respectively, while Chadwick was still a student at the Leipzig conservatory. The third quartet, dedicated to the composer Arthur Foote, a colleague and friend of Chadwick's, was finished in 1886. The later quartets demonstrate Chadwick's mature style. The fourth and the fifth quartets were premiered in 1896 and 1901 by famous Boston ensembles, the Kneisel Quartet and the Adamowski Quartet, respectively.
2 Items
Set Descending Direction
  1. $190.00
  2. $150.00