My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Gabrieli, A.: Complete Madrigals 11

Andrea Gabrieli
Complete Madrigals 11
Madrigals a 8
Edited by A. Tillman Merritt
Gabrieli, A.: Complete Madrigals 11
Full Score (1984)
8.5x11, xv + 92 pp.

Availability: In stock

This volume includes all the eight-voice madrigals by Andrea Gabrieli, which were published posthumously in various anthologies. Besides their variety of occasional, celebratory, and poetic texts, these works exhibit the full range of eight-voice compositional techniques used in late sixteenth-century Italy, and works for both double choir and single eight-voice choir are featured.
1. Felici d'Adria
2. A le guancie di rose
3–4. Pront'era l'alma mia—E cert'anco di ciò
5. Tirsi, che fai così dolente
6. Hor che nel suo bel seno
7. O Dea, che tra le selve
8. Quand'havrà fine amore
9. Ecco la vaga aurora
10–11. Sento, sent'un rumor—Alla battaglia
12. Vezzosa Filli
13. Vieni, vieni, Himeneo
Marcia Epstein, Sixteenth Century Journal; Denis Arnold, Early Music, February 1984; David Butchart, Early Music, May 1986; James Chater, Journal of the Royal Musical Association, 1988; Anthony F. Carver, Music & Letters, July 1986; Lawrence Bennett,
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions