My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Gaviniés: Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Op. 1

Pierre Gaviniés
Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Opus 1
Edited by Anthony F. Ginter
Gaviniés: Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Op. 1
Full Score (1995)
9x12, xvi + 84 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $42.00

Sale Price $33.60


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (1995)
Set of 2 parts (vn.; b.c.)

Regular Price: $24.00

Sale Price $19.20

Gaviniés published these sonatas in Paris in 1760. A Janus figure, Gaviniés composed sonatas utilizing a characteristically baroque (unrealized) basso continuo while at the same time incorporating the galant style in the violin part. The sonatas are excellent specimens of the preclassical sonata and illuminate many facets of the stylistic transition from the baroque to the high classical style.
Sonata I in D Major
Sonata II in G Minor
Sonata III in B Minor
Sonata IV in G Major
Sonata V in B-flat Major
Sonata VI in A Major
Angela East, Early Music Today, February/March 1997
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions