My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Gaviniés: Three Sonatas for Violin, Op. posth.

Pierre Gaviniés
Three Sonatas for Violin, Opus posth.
Edited by Anthony F. Ginter
Gaviniés: Three Sonatas for Violin, Op. posth.
Full Score (2011)
9x12, xii + 43 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $70.00

Sale Price $56.00


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (2011)
Set of 2 parts (vn.; b.)

Regular Price: $16.00

Sale Price $12.80

There is evidence to indicate that Pierre Gaviniés composed this collection of three violin sonatas, published in Paris in 1801, close to his death in 1800. Dedicated to his friend, the violinist Rudolph Kreutzer, these sonatas exhibit a greater inventiveness in the writing for the violin than is found in his earlier sonatas of opus 1 and opus 3, which appeared in ‎‎1760 and 1764, respectively. The opus posthumous sonatas demand a virtuosic technique comparable to that needed in Gaviniés’s famous work, Les Vingt-quatre matinées, also composed in 1800. The bass line of the opus posthumous collection, unlike that in his earlier works, is unfigured and is not labeled as a basso continuo. In a Berlin edition of ‎‎1828, the bass line is published separately from the violin part, as a violoncello accompaniment ad libitum. The editor concludes that these sonatas could be performed in one of three ways: first, as a solo with basso continuo, the harmony supplied by a knowledgeable keyboard player supported by a cellist playing the bass line; second, as just an unaccompanied violin solo; or third, as a duo played by a violinist and cellist. Any choice of these options should produce a satisfactory and convincing interpretation of these sonatas.
Sonata I: Le Tombeau
  Allegro ma affetuoso
  Allegro con fuogo ma non troppo presto
Sonata II
  Adagio ma non troppo
  Allegro con espressivo
  Andante con variazione
Sonata III
  Allegro moderato
  Andante con variazione
  Seconda thema: Andante
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions