Concerted Sacred Music of the Bologna School

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Concerted Sacred Music of the Bologna School

Edited by Peter Smith

B057 Concerted Sacred Music of the Bologna School
978-0-89579-221-1 Full Score (1987) 9x12, xv + 82 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Keyboard-Vocal Score (1987)
Keyboard-Vocal score

Rental Parts (1987)
Set of 12 parts: vn. 1 (x3), vn. 2 (x3), vn. 3 (x2), va. (x2), b. (x2)
This volume contains three contrasting works, scored for a varying number of voices with strings and continuo, by composers associated with the "Bologna School." Vitali's Magnificat (1677), Colonna's solo motet "O lucidissima dies" (1681), and Bassani's psalm setting "Domine ad adjuvandum" (1699) are characteristic examples of the concerted writing these composers produced. They are not only of historical value to Baroque specialists but are also attractive and effective in performance.
Magnificat, Giovanni Battista Vitali
O lucidissima dies, Giovanni Paolo Colonna
Domine ad adjuvandum, Giovanni Battista Bassani
Anne Schnoebelen, Music & Letters, May 1989; Robert Cammarota, Notes, December 1992; Elizabeth Roche, Early Music, May 1988