My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Dresel: Collected Vocal Music

Dresel: Collected Vocal Music
Otto Dresel
Collected Vocal Music
Edited by David Francis Urrows
This edition includes a supplement, sold separately.

Availability: In stock

This edition presents ninety lieder and other vocal compositions by a neglected figure, Otto Dresel (1826–90), reflecting the life of a composer with German origins and an American émigré experience. Since Dresel published few compositions during his lifetime, most of the music presented here appears for the first time. The edition includes notes on the (often elusive) sources of his texts and reviews from nineteenth-century journals, which trace the reception of his music. An additional feature is the presentation of the original and revised versions of lieder that Dresel published at different times.
The Lost Child is a reflective, elegiac concert aria that Dresel set for voice and piano in 1874 and later revised it for voice and orchestra. The supplement volume presents the orchestral version for the first time in a modern edition.
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions