Eccles: Europe's Revels for the Peace of Ryswick

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Eccles: Works
Click for samples
John Eccles
Europe's Revels for the Peace of Ryswick

Edited by Michael Burden

B209 Eccles: Europe's Revels for the Peace of Ryswick
978-1-9872-0306-6 Full Score (2019) 9x12, xxvii + 97 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Rental Parts (2023)
Set of 19 partbooks: rec. 1, rec. 2 0100 0200 drums 33221 choral score, errata
John Eccles’s setting of Europe’s Revels for the Peace of Ryswick was performed at court and in the theater to mark the successful conclusion of the first part of the negotiations of the Peace of Ryswick (1697). This was an occasion of great rejoicing for the English, and, indeed, for the rest of Europe, as it offered the chance of some political stability after the turbulent events of the Civil Wars.
The action of the piece falls into two halves, within which the ideas are presented in individual scenes or entries reminiscent of a masque. The political messages contained in the work include the role in society for returning soldiers and the superiority of the English on the battlefield, and serious and comic elements which rely on a good dose of national stereotyping and on the understanding of different national traits through dance.
No. 1. Symphony
No. 2. Air—Chorus—Air (English Officer; Britons; Lady, Messenger of Peace): “Arm, Britons!”
No. 3. [Dances for People of Several Nations]
No. 4. [Dances of National Exchange]
No. 5. Dialogue (French Officer, English Lady): “Madame, me be, de tout mon cœur”
No. 6. Air (Irish Rapparee): “Hub, ub, ub, booh”
No. 7. Dialogue (Country Lass, Soldier): “Come girls, we’ll be merry”
No. 8. Air (Young Savoyard): “O raree show! O brave show!”
No. 9. March (Grenadiers)
No. 10. Chorus—Air—Chorus (Britons; [Lady, Messenger of Peace]): “Rejoice, rejoice, the world has rest”