My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Cavalli: La Calisto

Francesco Cavalli
La Calisto
Edited by Jennifer Williams Brown
Cavalli: La Calisto
Full Score (2007)
9x12, xciv + 219 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Rental Parts (2006)
Set of 3 parts: 0000 0000 11010
One of the few Baroque operas often performed today, La Calisto has been widely available only in Leppard’s rewritten version. This new edition aims to serve the needs of performers, scholars, and students alike. It offers a complete and accurate text, based on the three surviving sources of the premiere (Venice, 1651), plus a new English translation. It reconstructs the original scenery/staging and missing ritornellos, provides suggested continuo figures throughout, and chronicles the revisions Cavalli and Faustini made during production.
A lengthy introduction discusses the music and drama, the original production, and the issues at stake in editing seventeenth-century opera. For performers, it offers numerous suggestions about casting, instrumentation, continuo realization, and making revisions for modern productions. Four appendices provide a list of the 1651 revisions, data on the original scenery and costumes, a detailed concordance with Leppard’s edition, and replacement music for the missing dances.
  Prologo: La Natura, L'Eternità, Il Destino
    [Arioso]: “Alme pure” (La Natura)
    [Arietta]: “Chi qua sale” (L'Eternità)
    [Duetto]: “Il calle” (L'Eternità, La Natura)
    [Aria and Trio]: “Calisto alle stelle” (L'Eternità, Il Destino, La Natura)
Atto primo
  Scena prima: Giove, Mercurio
    [Arioso]: “Oh, che luci serene” (Giove)
  Scena secondo: Calisto, Giove, Mercurio
    [Aria]: "Piante ombrose" (Calisto)
    [Aria and Duetto]: "Arciera vezzosa" (Mercurio, Giove)
    Aria: "Verginella" (Calisto)
  Scena terza: Giove, Mercurio
  Scena quarta: Calisto
    Aria: "Non è maggior piacere" (Calisto)
  Scena quinta: Giove trasformato in Diana, Mercurio, Calisto
    [Aria]: "O decoro" (Giove in Diana, Calisto)
    [Duetto]: "A baciarsi" (Calisto, Giove in Diana)
  Scena sesta: Mercurio
    Aria: "Se non giovano" (Mercurio)
  Scena settima: Endimione
    [Aria]: "Serenati" (Endimione)
  Scena ottava: Diana, Linfea, [Coro di Ninfe Arciere di Diana], Endimione
  Scena nona: Diana, Linfea, [Coro di Ninfe Arciere di Diana]
  Scena decima: Calisto, Diana, Linfea, [Coro di Ninfe Arciere di Diana]
    [Arietta]: "Piacere Maggiore" (Calisto)
  Scena undecima: Calisto, Linfea
    [Aria]: "Piangete" (Calisto)
  Scena duodecima: Linfea
    Aria: "L'uomo" (Linfea)
  Scena decimaterza: Satirino, Linfea
    [Arietta]: "Ninfa bella" (Satirino)
    [Arietta]: "Molle come lanugine" (Satirino)
    [Aria]: "Io son" (Satirino)
    [Aria]: "Nelle mandre" (Linfea)
  Scena decimaquarta: Satirino
  Scena decimaquinta: Pane, Silvano, Satirino
    [Arietta]: "Numi selvatici" (Pane)
    [Duetto]: "Pane, consolati" (Satirino, Silvano)
  Ballo: Dance of Bears [See appendix 4]
Atto secondo
  Scena prima: Endimione
    [Aria]: "Lucidissima face" (Endimione)
    [Arioso]: “Sonno, cortese sonno” (Endimione)
  Scena seconda: Diana, Endimione
    [Arioso]: “Candidi corridori” (Diana)
    [Arietta]: "Ammirabili forme" (Diana)
    [Arietta]: “Viso eterno” (Endimione)
    [Aria]: "Vivi, vivi" (Diana)
  Scena terza: Endimione
    Aria: "Ditemi" (Endimione)
  Scena quarta: Satirino
    [Aria]: "Chi crede a femmina" (Satirino)
  Scena quinta: Giunone
    [Aria]: "Dalle gelose" (Giunone)
  Scena sesta: Calisto, Giunone
    [Arietta]: “Sgorgate” (Calisto)
  Scena settima: Giove in Diana, Mercurio, Giunone, Calisto
  Scena ottava: Giove in Diana, Mercurio, Giunone
  Scena nona: Giove in Diana, Mercurio
    [Duetto]: "È spedito" (Giove in Diana, Mercurio)
  Scena decima: Endimione, Giove in Diana, Mercurio
    [Aria]: "Cor mio" (Endimione)
  Scena undecima: Satirino, Pane, Silvano, Endimione, Giove in Diana, Mercurio
  Scena duodecima: Pane, Silvano, Satirino, Endimione
    [Duetto]: "Fermati" (Pane, Silvano)
    [Trio]: “Miserabile" (Satirino, Pane, Silvano)
    [Trio]: "Pazzi quei” (Satirino, Pane, Silvano)
  Scena decimaterza: Satirino
    Aria: "Pazzi quei” (Satirino)
  Scena decimaquarta: Linfea, Satirino
    [Aria]: "D'aver un consorte" (Linfea)
  Ballo: Dance of Nymphs and Satyrs [See appendix 4]
Atto terzo
  Scena prima: Calisto
    Aria: "T'aspetto" (Calisto)
  Scena seconda: Giunone, Le Furie, Calisto
    [Duetto]: "Imponi, disponi" (Le Furie)
  Scena terza: Giunone
    Aria: "Mogli mie" (Giunone)
  Scena quarta: Mercurio, Le Furie, Giove, Calisto
    [Arietta]: "Bella mia" (Giove)
    [Duetto]: "Al cielo" (Mercurio, Giove)
    [Duetto]: "Mio foco fatale" (Calisto, Giove)
    [Arioso]: "A questi ardori" (Mercurio)
    [Trio]: “Al cielo” (Calisto, Mercurio, Giove)
  Scena quinta: Endimione, Pane, Silvano
    [Aria]: "Più che sciocco" (Silvano, Pane)
    [Duetto]: “Legato" (Pane, Silvano)
  Scena sesta: Diana, Endimione, Pane, Silvano
    [Duetto]: "Torna piacevole" (Pane, Silvano)
  Scena settima: Diana, Endimione
    [Arietta]: "Vivo per te" (Endimione)
    [Duetto]: "Dolcissimi baci" (Diana, Endimione)
  Scena ultima: Coro di Menti Celesti, Calisto, Giove, Mercurio
    [Coro]: "Le stelle"
    [Coro]: "Il ciel rida"
    [Trio]: "Mio tonante" (Calisto, Mercurio, Giove)
Appendix 4: Suggested Dance Music
   Balletto all'Italiana, Salvador Gandini
   Ballo delle Ninfe, Maurizio Cazzati
Reviewer unknown.  Early Music Review, 119, June 2007.
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions