My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Clement: Violin Concerto in D Major (1805)

Franz Clement
Violin Concerto in D Major (1805)
Edited by Clive Brown
Clement: Violin Concerto in D Major (1805)
Full Score (2005)
9x12, xii + 184 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Rental Parts (2005)
Set of 35 parts: 1222 2200 timp. 66443

Score + Part(s) (2005)
Set of 2 parts: vn., pn.
Score: 71 pp.; Part: 31 pp.
Franz Clement’s Violin Concerto in D Major, premiered by its composer in 1805 at a concert in which Beethoven conducted his Eroica Symphony, undoubtedly exerted an important influence on Beethoven’s violin concerto (which was written for Clement the following year), not only in respect of the treatment of the solo instrument, but also in terms of musical content. Clement’s concerto is a piece of real substance that reveals an exceptionally gifted composer, capable of handling the musical idiom of his day with confidence and imagination. It stands alongside Beethoven’s masterpiece as a lonely example of an early-nineteenth-century violin concerto in the Viennese Classical idiom. The present critical score has been prepared from a set of lithographed parts of about 1806–7. The separate violin part, published with a piano reduction, has been edited for performance, taking into account the known bowing and fingering practices of the period.
I. Allegro maestoso
II. Adagio
III. Rondo: Allegro
Duncan Druce, Early Music, May 2006.
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions