My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Concerted Sacred Music of the Bologna School

Concerted Sacred Music of the Bologna School
Edited by Peter Smith
Concerted Sacred Music of the Bologna School
Full Score (1987)
9x12, xv + 82 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Keyboard-Vocal Score (1987)
Keyboard-Vocal score

Rental Parts (1987)
Set of 12 parts: vn. 1 (x3), vn. 2 (x3), vn. 3 (x2), va. (x2), b. (x2)
This volume contains three contrasting works, scored for a varying number of voices with strings and continuo, by composers associated with the "Bologna School." Vitali's Magnificat (1677), Colonna's solo motet "O lucidissima dies" (1681), and Bassani's psalm setting "Domine ad adjuvandum" (1699) are characteristic examples of the concerted writing these composers produced. They are not only of historical value to Baroque specialists but are also attractive and effective in performance.
Magnificat, Giovanni Battista Vitali
O lucidissima dies, Giovanni Paolo Colonna
Domine ad adjuvandum, Giovanni Battista Bassani
Anne Schnoebelen, Music & Letters, May 1989; Robert Cammarota, Notes, December 1992; Elizabeth Roche, Early Music, May 1988
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions