My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Cozzolani: Motets

Chiara Margarita Cozzolani
Edited by Robert L. Kendrick
Cozzolani: Motets
Full Score (1998)
9x12, xxxii + 271 pp.

Availability: In stock

This edition of motets by the Milanese nun Chiara Margarita Cozzolani (1602–ca. 1677) incorporates new research and offers a new glimpse into seventeenth-century vocal repertory. It contains the complete surviving motets for one to five voices plus basso continuo, and settings of often impassioned Eucharistic, Marian, and sanctoral texts published largely for the first time in a modern edition. The introduction to this volume also includes a summary of recent work on musical life in Cozzolani's monastery (Santa Radegonda of Milan) and offers suggestions for the performance of these pieces by single-sex vocal ensembles and in line with the seventeenth-century renown of the nuns' choir at S. Radegonda. This is the first large-scale modern edition of vocal music from seventeenth-century Milan, an important musical and cultural center.
Motets from Concerti sacri (1642)
1. O quam bonum, O quam jocundum (C, B.c.)
2. Ecce annuntio vobis (C, B.c.)
3. Concinant linguae (A, B.c.)
4. O Maria, tu dulcis (A, B.c.)
5. Surgamus omnes (CC, B.c.)
6. Bone Jesu, fons amoris (CC, B.c.)
7. Colligite, pueri, flores (CC, B.c.)
8. O dulcis Jesu (CC, B.c.)
9. Ave mater dilectissima (CA, B.c.)
10. Regina caeli, laetare (AA, B.c.)
11. Salve, O regina (AT, B.c.)
12. O mi domine (AT, B.c.)
13. Alma redemptoris mater (CB, B.c.)
14. Obstupescite, gentes (AB, B.c.)
15. O gloriosa domina (CCB, B.c.)
16. O quam suavis est, Domine (ATB, B.c.)
17. Ave regina caelorum (ATB, B.c.)
18. Psallite, superi (CCAA, B.c.)
19. Regna terrae, cantate Deo (CCAB, B.c.)
20. Quid, miseri, quid faciamus (CATB, B.c.)
Motets from Salmi a otto voci concertati (1650)
21. O quam bonus es (CC, B.c.)
22. Venimus in altitudinem maris (CC, B.c.)
23. Quis audivit unquam tale (CCB, B.c.)
24. Venite, sodales (ATB, B.c.)
25. Gloria in altissimis Deo (CCAT, B.c.)
26. Maria Magdalene stabat (CAAT, B.c.)
27. Tu dulcis, O bone Jesu (AATT, B.c.)
28. O caeli cives (CCCTT, B.c.)
Fragment from Scherzi di sacra melodia (1648)
29. Quis mihi det calicem bibere Domini
Wendy Heller, Notes, December, 1999; Lawrence Schenbeck, Choral Journal, November 1999; Noel O'Regan, Music & Letters, 2000
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions