My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Heinichen: Lamentationes Jeremiae

Heinichen: Lamentationes Jeremiae
Johann David Heinichen
Lamentationes Jeremiae
Edited by Reinhard Goebel
Heinichen: Lamentationes Jeremiae
Full Score (2003)
8.5x11, ix + 38 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Orchestral Parts (2003)
Set of 14 parts: 2200 0000 33211
The years between 1719 and 1733 might be called the "golden years" of Dresden—a time when Friedrich August I was firmly established as the Polish king (named August II), the elector-prince's extremely fertile marriage secured the survival of the house of Wettin, and Saxony also enjoyed increasing prosperity. Music at the Dresden court was led by Johann David Heinichen, appointed to the post of kapellmeister in 1717 by the elector-prince, and he and the many other young and talented artists from the court transformed the new musical developments of Vienna, Venice, Rome, and Paris into something that could be called the characteristic "Dresden style."
Heinichen's Lamentationes Jeremiae were performed at the court chapel in Dresden in 1724, a year after Jan Dismas Zelenka's setting was stopped mid-performance because Maria Josepha declared it to be too long. Heinichen's Lamentations represent a style that was more to the taste of the court in Dresden, with a regular alternation of recitative and aria organized around the introductory Hebrew letters in the texts. The central Lamentatio II features a bass soloist with string and continuo accompaniment, while the framing Lamentatio I and III, for tenor and alto soloists, respectively, add flutes and oboes to the orchestra.
Lamentatio I
Lamentatio II
Lamentatio III
Early Music Review, September 2003
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions