My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Leonarda: Twelve Sonatas, Op. 16

Isabella Leonarda
Twelve Sonatas, Opus 16
Edited by Stewart Carter
Leonarda: Twelve Sonatas, Op. 16
Full Score (2001)
9x12, x + 121 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (2001)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; vc.; b.c.)
The present edition comprises the instrumental works of Isabella Leonard (1620–1703), an Ursuline nun who spent her entire adult life in a convent, the Collegio di S. Orsola, in Novara, Italy. A very prolific composer, Leonarda published nearly two hundred compositions during her long life. Most of these are sacred vocal works, but in 1693 she published her Sonate à 1.2.3. e 4. Istromenti, a collection comprising twelve sonatas, eleven for two violins, violone, and continuo, and one solo sonata for violin and continuo. These are the first sonatas published by a woman.
Sonata prima
Sonata seconda
Sonata terza
Sonata quarta
Sonata quinta
Sonata sesta
Sonata settima
Sonata ottava
Sonata nona
Sonata decima
Sonata undecima
Sonata duodecima
Peter Holman, Early Music, May 2003
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions