My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Paine: Three Chamber Works for Piano and Strings

John Knowles Paine
Three Chamber Works for Piano and Strings
Edited by John C. Schmidt
Paine: Three Chamber Works for Piano and Strings
Full Score (1991)
9x12, xxvii + 89 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (1991)
Set of 1 part (vn.)

Instrumental Part(s) (1991)
Set of 1 part (vc.)

Instrumental Part(s) (1991)
Set of 2 parts (vn., vc.)
John Knowles Paine (1839–1906) was among the first American composers successfully to pattern his works after mid-century European models, in particular, those favored and taught in German and German-American circles. Although his orchestral, choral, piano, and organ music has become better known through modern publications, his chamber music has remained largely untapped. Presented in this edition are three works: the sonata for piano and violin, op. 24; the Romanza and Humoreske for piano and cello, op. 30; and the Larghetto and Humoreske for piano, violin, and cello, op. 32. All the music in this volume is published here for the first time. Representative of Paine's middle and later style periods, these works were performed frequently and subjected to major revisions. This edition is based on the latest autographs and includes references to revisions of earlier versions.
Sonata for Piano and Violin, Op. 24
Romanza and Humoreske, Op. 30 (for piano and cello)
Larghetto and Humoreske, Op. 32 (for piano, violin, and cello)
David Kelleher, Notes, June 1994; Peter Dickinson, Music & Letters
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions