My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Reicha: Missa pro defunctis (Requiem)

Anton Reicha
Missa pro defunctis (Requiem)
Edited by Amy Goodman Weller
Reicha: Missa pro defunctis (Requiem)
Full Score (2007)
9x12, xvii + 231 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Missa pro defunctis (Requiem) (Piano-Vocal Score)

Keyboard-Vocal Score (2009)
viii + 165 pp.

Rental Parts (2009)
Set of 23 parts: 2222 2330 timp. 88664 PV
In addition to his wind chamber music and theoretical treatises, Anton Reicha (1770–1836) wrote numerous choral compositions, including a thirteen-movement Missa pro defunctis. This Requiem, composed by the teacher of Berlioz years before the latter wrote his Grande messe des morts, is missing the final "Cum sanctis" fugue of its manuscript score. However, in his Traité de haute composition musicale, Reicha uses a "Cum sanctis" fugue as an example of fugal writing for chorus and orchestra. The choral and string parts of this fugue match the extant string and choral manuscript parts of the Requiem. Therefore, the missing portion of this Missa pro defunctis has been supplied from Reicha’s own treatise. Commentary on the Requiem includes performance suggestions based on concepts discussed by Reicha in his four major theoretical treatises.
No. 1. Requiem
No. 2. Dies irae
No. 3. Tuba mirum
No. 4. Liber scriptus
No. 5. Rex tremendae
No. 6. Recordare
No. 7. Confutatis
No. 8. Lacrimosa
No. 9. Domine Jesu
No. 10. Hostias
No. 11. Sanctus
No. 12. Benedictus
No. 13. Agnus Dei
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions