My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Ritter: Six Quartets for Bassoon and Strings, Op. 1

Georg Wenzel Ritter
Six Quartets for Bassoon and Strings, Opus 1
Edited by Daniel G. Lipori
Ritter: Six Quartets for Bassoon and Strings, Op. 1
Full Score (1999)
9x12, ix + 84 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (1999)
Set of 4 parts (bn.; vn.; va.; vc.)
George Wenzel Ritter (1748–1808) was a bassoonist at the Mannheim court and was known throughout Europe as a virtuoso player. Many composers wrote bassoon parts in their own works with Ritter in mind, and Ritter himself composed for the instrument. His quartets for bassoon and strings show the technical level at which he operated and which rivaled that of the flute and string instruments. Very little chamber music for bassoon is known to survive from the eighteenth century, since the instrument was often relegated to accompaniments. Ritter's quartets show the bassoon of that period in a different light. This edition presents Ritter's quartets for the first time in a modern edition, a welcome contribution to the chamber music repertoire as well as to the repertoire for bassoon.
Quartet No. 1 in C Major
Quartet No. 2 in F Major
  Allegro non tanto
  Tempo di Minuetto
Quartet No. 3 in B-flat Major
Quartet No. 4 in E-flat Major
  Rondo gracioso—Allegro
Quartet No. 5 in G Major
Quartet No. 6 in F Major
  Allegro moderato
  Tempo di Minuetto
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions