My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Sances: Motetti a 2, 3, 4, a cinque voci (1642)

Giovanni Felice Sances
Motetti a 2, 3, 4, e cinque voci (1642)
Edited by Andrew H. Weaver
Sances: Motetti a 2, 3, 4, a cinque voci (1642)
Full Score (2008)
9x12, xxxiv + 220 pp.

Availability: In stock

This edition presents a collection of twenty-five motets (for two to six voices and continuo) published by the imperial court composer Giovanni Felice Sances (ca. 1600–1679) in 1642, a critical year of the Thirty Years' War (1618–48). Many aspects of the collection, such as the dedication to Count Vilem Slavata (as well as other external features), the choice of motet texts, and how the music enhances the words, demonstrate a close relationship between this book and Habsburg politics and piety, making the print an effective means of propaganda for Holy Roman Emperor Ferdinand III (r. 1637–57). In addition, the edition provides a valuable cross-section of mid-seventeenth-century musical style, with works ranging from various concertato styles to more staid da cappella works.
1. O Domine Jesu
2. O bone Jesu
3. Quot maris sunt guttae
4. Si criminum
5. Honestum fecit
6. Veni sponsa Christi
7. Lauda Sion Salvatorem
8. Salve Regina
9. Quid mihi est in caelo
10. Domine ne in furore tuo
11. Benedicta et venerabilis
12. Alma Redemptoris Mater
13. Iste Sanctus
14. O Crux benedicta
15. Veni Sancte Spiritus
16. Te Deum Patrem ingenitum
17. O beata Maria
18. Caro mea
19. Audi Domine
20. Deus propitius esto
21. Gaude Virgo
22. Mulierem fortem
23. Alma Redemptoris Mater
24. Salve Regina
25. Letanie della B. V.
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions