My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Smith: Short Orchestral Works

Alice Mary Smith
Short Orchestral Works
Andante for Clarinet and Orchestra; Intermezzi from The Masque of Pandora
Edited by Ian Graham-Jones
Smith: Short Orchestral Works
Full Score (2020)
9x12, ix + 65 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (2020)
Set of 2 partbooks (solo cl.; piano)

Rental Parts (2020)
2212 2200 timp. 66443

Rental Parts (2020)
2222 eng hn 4000 66443
One of the most prolific women composers of her time, Alice Mary Smith (1839–84) produced the greatest number of publicly performed large-scale orchestral and choral works of any of her gender. This edition presents three of her short orchestral compositions for the first time in print. The Andante for Clarinet and Orchestra, an orchestral transcription of the slow movement of Smith’s Sonata for Clarinet and Piano of 1870, was greatly admired by the English clarinetist Henry Lazarus, who performed it multiple times. The two intermezzi, along with the overture, comprise the complete orchestral music from Smith’s grand choral cantata The Masque of Pandora, a setting of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s epic poem. Designed as independent instrumental movements, Smith fully orchestrated the intermezzi for a performance in 1879 by the New Philharmonic Society under William Ganz. In the introduction to the edition, Graham-Jones includes a brief biography of Smith and reproduces numerous reviews and program notes from the various performances of these three works.
Andante for Clarinet and Orchestra
Intermezzi from The Masque of Pandora
Intermezzo No. 1. After the Storm
Intermezzo No. 2. In the Garden
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions