My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Two Operas from the Series Die zween Anton, Part 1

Two Operas from the Series Die zween Anton, Part 1
Der dumme Gärtner aus dem Gebürge oder Die zween Anton (Vienna, 1789)
Edited by David J. Buch
Two Operas from the Series Die zween Anton, Part 1
Full Score (2015)
9x12, lxi + 216 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $270.00

Sale Price $162.00


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Set of 37 parts: 2222 2200 timp. 66443 chorus
Among the forgotten but highly popular operas of the late eighteenth century, Der dumme Gärtner aus dem Gebürge oder Die zween Anton (The Dumb Gardener from the Mountains or The Two Antons, Vienna, 12 July 1789) seems particularly worthy of reexamination. The Antons (as Mozart called it) was the subject of much commentary and praise; it was performed in almost every German theatre over the next two decades, and it was translated into Czech. The success of the opera inspired six sequels and secured the place of its author, Emanuel Schikaneder, in the popular imagination of the Viennese public. This success also made possible the series of fairy-tale operas that included Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte (1791). Die zween Anton was also the first original opera of Emanuel Schikaneder produced the Theater auf der Wieden after he had taken over its direction; the music was a collaborative composition by Franz Xaver Gerl, Benedikt Schack, Johann Baptist Henneberg, and probably Schikaneder himself. With the recent recovery of a Viennese manuscript copy of Die zween Anton in Hamburg’s State and University Library, we can now investigate this opera in detail.
Erster Aufzug
No. 1. Chorus: “O Morgen! Lieblich zum Entzücken”
No. 2. Chorus: “Jünglinge eilet kommt alle herbei!”
No. 3. Aria (Anton Redlich): “Als ich noch frei von Liebe war”
No. 4. Aria (Gräfin Josepha): “Auch im Schlummer seh’ ich dich”
No. 5. Aria (Liesel): “Er nannte mich sein schönes Ließchen”
No. 6. Aria (Redlich): “Einst verliebte sich ein Jüngling”
No. 7. Duetto (Anton, Liesel): “O Hochzeitstag! wenn kommst du an?”
No. 8. Aria (Junger Graf): “Jede Schöne die mich sieht schmachtet liebevoll nach mir”
No. 9. Aria (Anton): “Jerum! O Jerum! die Gräfin ist mein!”
No. 10. Aria (Liesel): “Ein Junker listig wie ein Fuchs”
No. 11. Terzetto (Redlich, Anton Redlich, Liesel): “Mein Sohn gehorche mir”
Zweiter Aufzug
No. 12. Aria (Junger Graf): “Mir sind alle Mädchen gleich”
No. 13. Aria (Redlich): “Ein Junker von gar altem Haus”
No. 14. Aria (Gräfin Josepha): “Mein Anton, welch’ ein Glück!”
No. 15. Duetto (Anton, Liesel): “Jetzt Anton! lebe wohl!”
No. 16. Aria (Anton): “Herzliebste Schatzerl!”
No. 17. Chorus: “Kommt wir wollen uns verteilen”
No. 18. Aria (Anton Redlich): “O Nacht! viel schwärzer als die Hölle”
No. 19. Duetto (Gräfin Josepha, Anton Redlich): “O Anton, du bist mein!”
No. 20. Chorus: “Ohne Freundschaft, ohne Liebe”
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions