My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Widor: Symphonie III

Charles-Marie Widor
Symphonie III in E Minor
Edited by John R. Near
Widor: Symphonie III
Full Score (1992)
9x12, xvi + 74 pp.

Availability: In stock

Charles-Marie Widor established the organ symphony as a genre with his first four Symphonies pour orgue, opus 13 (1872). The introduction to this edition of Widor's Symphonie III includes a list of the sources, a statement of editorial policies, and information about Widor's registrations. Symphonie III in E Minor, in five movements, originally ended with a fugue, until this was replaced by an impassioned, rhapsodic finale of Lisztian bravura. Also included in this edition are seven appendices containing selected principal variants, with the original version of the third movement Marcia, the fugue movement that was eventually dropped, and an additional version of the finale.
[I] Prélude: Moderato
II. Minuetto
III. Marcia
IV. Adagio
V. Final: Allegro molto
Appendix 1: [III] Marcia. Version A/A
Appendix 2: III. Marcia. Version B/B, Mm. 45–114, 139–43
Appendix 3: III. Marcia. Editions C and C, Mm. 75–96
Appendix 4: V. Fugue. Version B/B
Appendix 5: VI. Finale. Version B/B
Appendix 6: V. Final. Edition C, Mm. 181–96
Appendix 7: V. Finale. Edition D, Mm. 181–95
Arthur Lawrence, Notes, September 1993; Mark Buxton, The Diapason, September 1993; Robert Parkins, The Organ Yearbook, 1995; Andrew Thomson, Choir & Organ, May 1993
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions