My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Fayrfax: Sacred Music from the Lambeth Choirbook

Robert Fayrfax
Sacred Music from the Lambeth Choirbook
Edited by Margaret Lyon
Fayrfax: Sacred Music from the Lambeth Choirbook
Full Score (1985)
8.5x11, xxii + 83 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $42.00

Sale Price $33.60

The Mass Regali ex progenie, the magnificat "Regale," and the motet "Aeterne laudis lilium" by Fayrfax (chief composer to Henry VII and the young Henry VIII) represent the principal sacred forms in England at the turn of the sixteenth century. Fayrfax juxtaposes sections of three-voice vertical writing and of non-cadencing, contrapuntal passages, leading to unusual choral effects in five parts. His music, though retrospective in its design and rhythmic complexity, looks to the future in its massive effects drawing upon the pervading resonance of imperfect consonance.
Mass Regali ex progenie
  Agnus Dei
Magnificat "Regale"
Aeterne laudis lilium
S. Thomson Moore, Notes, March 1988; Gareth Curtis, Early Music, February 1987; John Milsom, Music & Letters, October 1988
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions