My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

García: L'isola disabitata

Manuel García
L'isola disabitata
Edited by Teresa Radomski, James Radomski
García: L'isola disabitata
Full Score (2006)
9x12, xl + 179 pp.

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $185.00

Sale Price $148.00

This is the first publication of the one-act "salon opera" (for two sopranos, tenor, baritone) with piano accompaniment by Manuel del Pópulo Vicente García (1775–1832). Renowned as the opening-night Almaviva in Rossini's Il barbiere di Siviglia, García was one of the greatest of the bel canto tenors. Apart from a performing career that took him from Madrid to Naples, London, New York, and Mexico City, García was a master teacher of singing and prolific composer. L'isola disabitata (1831), one of five "salon operas" composed after García had retired from the stage, was intended for performance by his students in Paris. A charming work in its own right, based on one of Metastasio's most popular librettos, the opera offers insight into García's bel canto style as well as his pedagogical method. This edition presents the score with libretto, translation, and performance notes useful for an understanding of bel canto in the early nineteenth century.
Scena prima (Costanza)
  Recitativo: "Qual contrasto non vince"
Scena seconda (Silvia, Costanza)
  Aria (Silvia): "Che piacere, che contento"
  Recitativo (Silvia, Costanza): "Ah germana! Ah Costanza!"
  Duetto (Costanza, Silvia): "Ah tu del ben, che ignori"
Scena terza (Silvia)
  Recitativo: "Che ostinato dolor!"
Scena quarta (Gernando, Enrico)
  Duetto: "O desiato lido"
Scena quinta (Silvia, Enrico)
  Recitativo (Silvia, Enrico): "Nulla intender poss'io"
  Aria (Silvia): "Fra un dolce deliro"
Scena sesta (Gernando, Enrico)
  Recitativo (Gernando, Enrico): "Ah! Presaga fu l'alma"
  Aria (Gernando): "Parti, amico"
Scena settima (Enrico)
  Recitativo: "Non s'irrìti fra' primi impeti"
Scena ottava (Silvia, Enrico)
  Recitativo: "Dov'è Costanza?"
  Duetto: "Non mi fuggir così"
  Recitativo: "Dì, se cortesi sei"
Scena nona (Costanza)
  Aria: "Ah che in van per me pietoso"
  Scena decima (Costanza, Gernando, Enrico)
  Recitativo: "Giacché da me lontana"
Finale (Enrico, Costanza, Silvia, Gernando)
  Allegretto: "Tu non sogni e non sognasti"
  Quartetto: "Ed è vero?"
  Allegretto: "Guarda Enrico a Gernando"—Coro: "Allor che il ciel s'imbruna"
© 2021 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions