Gaviniés: Six Sonatas for Two Violins, Op. 5

Series: Classical Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Gaviniés: Violin Sonatas
Click for samples
Pierre Gaviniés
Six Sonatas for Two Violins, Opus 5

Edited by Anthony F. Ginter

C054 Gaviniés: Six Sonatas for Two Violins, Op. 5
978-0-89579-429-1 Full Score (1999) 9x12, xiv + 59 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (1999)
Set of 2 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2)
The Six Sonatas for Two Violins, op. 5, by Pierre Gaviniés, are notable examples of a genre that was utilized in France by violinist-composers, both native and foreign, from the beginning of the second quarter of the eighteenth century. Like his Sonatas for Violin and Basso Continuo, op. 1 (vol. 43 in this series), these sonatas feature elements of both late-baroque and high classical musical styles. Each of the sonatas contains three movements that show traits of the Classical sonata-allegro form. These sonatas, titled duetti in the separate violin parts, give equal treatment to both violins.
Duetto I
  Allegro assai
Duetto II
  Allegro comodo
  Andante un poco adagio
  Allegro assai
Duetto III
  Allegro moderato e cantabile
  Andante ma un poco adagio
  Allegretto e grazioso
Duetto IV
  Allegro assai
  Andante un poco adagio e cantabile
  Allegro molto
Duetto V
  Andante un poco adagio
  Allegretto ma grazioso
Duetto VI
  Allegro cantabile
  Andante un poco adagio