Gaviniés: Six Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Op. 3

Series: Classical Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Gaviniés: Violin Sonatas
Click for samples
Pierre Gaviniés
Six Sonatas for Violin and Basso Continuo, Opus 3

Edited by Anthony F. Ginter

C064 Gaviniés: Six Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Op. 3
978-0-89579-501-4 Full Score (2002) 9x12, x + 59 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Instrumental Part(s) (2002)
Set of 2 parts (vn.; b.c.)
Pierre Gaviniés gained his reputation in Paris, where he enjoyed a long and active association with the Concert spirituel, the famous concert series that dominated the French musical scene throughout most of the eighteenth century. A Janus-like figure, Gaviniés composed these sonatas using the characteristically baroque (unrealized) basso continuo while at the same time incorporating the galant style in the violin part. As with his previous opus 1 sonatas (published as vol. 43 in this series), each of these sonatas contains three movements, and a fast-slow-fast tempo scheme predominates. Many of the fast movements show traits of the classical sonata-allegro form. The slow movements, short, lyrical, and highly expressive with few embellishments, provide contrast in mood and construction.
Sonata I

Sonata II

Sonata III
   Allegro ma cantabile
   Adagio cantabile

Sonata IV
   Allegro moderato

Sonata V
   Tempo di minuetto

Sonata VI
   Aria: Andante
Huguette Brassine, Music & Letters, 89/4, Nov. 2004.
Wiebke Thormählen, Eighteenth-Century Music, 2004