Gideon: Fortunato (SUPPLEMENT)

Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions
This volume is part of the set Gideon: Fortunato
For the full score, see Gideon: Fortunato
Click for samples
Miriam Gideon
Fortunato (Supplement)
Orchestration of Scene 1

Edited by Stephanie Jensen-Moulton

A075S Gideon: Fortunato (SUPPLEMENT)
978-0-89579-769-8 Full Score (2013) 9x12, vi + 123 pp.
In stock
In 1958 American composer Miriam Gideon (1906–96) completed her only opera, Fortunato, based on the eponymous "tragicomic farce" by the Spanish playwrights Serafín and Joaquín Álvarez Quintero (1871–1938 and 1873–1944, respectively). This supplement includes Gideon's full orchestration of Fortunato's first scene, recently discovered among the composer's personal papers, which she may have intended as a sample piece to be pitched to television networks.