Hastings: Anthems

Series: American Music  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Thomas Hastings

Edited by David W. Music

A083 Hastings: Anthems
978-0-89579-865-7 Full Score (2017) 9x12, xxi + 138 pp.
Special Price $200.00 Regular Price $250.00
In stock
Thomas Hastings (1784–1872) was one of the foremost advocates of “reform psalmody,” which sought to replace the “crudities” of the Billings-Read-Holden school of American sacred music with a more graceful melodic style and the common practice harmonic idiom characteristic of European music. The present edition makes available for modern study and performance a selection of Hastings’s choral music, chosen from a single genre—the anthem—to facilitate comparative study, both within his corpus and with similar pieces by others. Hastings’s anthems are typically for four-part mixed choir, with the melody given to the treble (unlike early American psalmody). Many of the works include a keyboard part, either fully notated or in the form of a figured bass.
Digital print and paper offprint products are available for this title.
1. Arise, O Lord
2. Beautiful for situation
3. Behold, bless ye the Lord
4. Behold, I bring you glad tidings
5. Bless the Lord, O my soul
6. Blessed are the people
7. Blessed are they that dwell in thy house
8. Blessed be the Lord God of Israel
9. Christ, our passover, is sacrific’d for us
10. For if we believe that Jesus died
11. He shall feed his flock
12. How beautiful
13. I heard a voice (1)
14. I heard a voice (2)
15. I was glad
16. I will bless the Lord
17. It is a good thing
18. Jesus said, Suffer little children to come unto me
19. Let the people praise thee
20. Lord, make me to know
21. O pray for the peace
22. Oh, that men
23. Praise the Lord
24. Praise waiteth for thee
25. The whole earth is at rest
26. Whom have I in heaven?