Holzner: Viretum pierium (1621)

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Anton Holzner
Viretum pierium (1621)

Edited by Alexander J. Fisher

B156 Holzner: Viretum pierium (1621)
978-0-89579-653-0 Full Score (2009) 9x12, xvi + 81 pp.
In stock
Anton Holzner's Viretum pierium or "Pierian Meadow" (referring to the mythological home of the muses), a collection of twenty-four Latin sacred vocal concertos for one to five voices and continuo published in Munich in 1621, is a fine example of a genre that epitomized sacred music in Bavaria in the decades after Orlando di Lassos's death and, indeed, was of central importance for Catholic German music as a whole. The Latin vocal concerto in southern Germany mediated between existing polyphonic traditions north of the Alps and the newer currents of the Italian stile moderno while providing a vehicle for the aural expression of Catholic spirituality—Marian, eucharistic, and sanctoral devotion—in a time of religious and political crisis.
1. Amen dico vobis (cantus or tenor)
2. In toto corde meo (cantus or tenor)
3. Gaudent in caelis (2 cantus or 2 tenors)
4. Verbum caro (2 cantus)
5. Transfige, dulcissime Jesu (cantus and tenor)
6. Tollite jugum meum (cantus and tenor)
7. In tua patientia (2 altus)
8. Gaude Virgo gloriosa (2 tenors)
9. Virgo prudentissima (2 tenors)
10. Congratulamini mihi omnes (cantus and bassus)
11. Sanctificavit Dominus (cantus and bassus)
12. Stabunt justi (3 cantus or 3 tenors)
13. In lectulo meo (2 cantus or 2 tenors, and bassus)
14. Gabriel Angelus (2 cantus and bassus)
15. O quam gloriosum est (2 cantus and bassus)
16. O Rex gloriae (cantus and 2 tenors)
17. O vos omnes (cantus, tenor, and bassus)
18. O salutaris Hostia (cantus, tenor, and bassus)
19. Duo Seraphim (2 altus and bassus)
20. O dulcis amor Jesu (altus, tenor, and bassus)
21. Alma Redemptoris (cantus, altus, 2 tenors, and bassus)
22. Ave Regina caelorum (cantus, altus, 2 tenors, and bassus)
23. Regina caeli (2 cantus, altus, tenor, and bassus)
24. Salve Regina (2 cantus, altus, tenor, and bassus)