My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Giordani: Three Quintets for Keyboard and Strings

Tommaso Giordani
Three Quintets for Keyboard and Strings
Edited by Nicholas Temperley
Giordani: Three Quintets for Keyboard and Strings
Full Score (1987)
9x12, xv + 128 pp.

Availability: In stock


Performance Parts

Availability: In stock

Instrumental Part(s) (1987)
Set of 4 parts (vn. 1; vn. 2; va.; vc.)
Giordani's Opus 1 quintets, published in London in 1771, are believed to have been the first pieces of their kind. They catered to a lively interest in new instrumental combinations displayed by royal and aristocratic amateurs in England at this time. In addition to their historical value, they extend the repertory of quintets for keyboard and strings backward by approximately fifty years. These fine examples of the galant style are equally suited to harpsichord or pianoforte.
Quintet No. 1 in E-flat Major
  I. Allegro maestoso
  II. Largo
  III. Minuetto: Allegro
Quintet No. 3 in A Major
  I. Allegro moderato
  II. Larghetto
  III. Rondo: Allegro
Quintet No. 5 in C Major
  I. Allegro moderato
  II. Un poco andante
  III. Presto
Simon McVeigh, Music & Letters, February 1989
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions