Kuhnau: Magnificat

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Johann Kuhnau

Edited by Evangeline Rimbach

B034 Kuhnau: Magnificat
978-0-89579-131-3 Full Score (1980) 9x12, x + 76 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Choral Score (1980)
Choral score (SSATB)

Rental Parts (1980)
Set of 20 parts: 0200 0300 timp. 33421
Kuhnau's Magnificat is written in the form of a typical Leipzig festival cantata of the late seventeenth century and is scored for four soloists, a five-voice choir, and orchestra. Although Kuhnau is remembered today chiefly for his keyboard works, notably the Biblische Historien, he also wrote numerous sacred vocal works during his tenure at the St. Thomas Church in Leipzig. The Magnificat is Kuhnau's largest extant vocal work, and this publication is its first appearance in print.
Magnificat anima mea Dominum (SSATB)
Et exsultavit spiritus (S, oboe)
Quia respexit humilitatem ancillae suae (A)
Quia fecit mihi magna (SSATB)
Et misericordia ejus (T)
Fecit potentiam in brachio suo (SSATB)
Deposuit potentes desede (S, B)
Esurientes implevit bonis (S, A)
Suscepit Israel puerum (T)
Sicut locutus est ad patres nostros (SSATB)
Gloria Patri (B)
Sicut erat in principio (SSATB)
Elizabeth Roche, Early Music, July 1983