Kusser: Serenatas for Dublin

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Johann Sigismund Kusser
Serenatas for Dublin

Edited by Samantha Owens

B210 Kusser: Serenatas for Dublin
978-1-9872-0450-6 Full Score (2020) 9x12, xxvii + 262 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Rental Parts (2023)
Set of 15 partbooks: 0201 0000 33221 chorus (ob. 1 includes recorder and voice flute 1; ob. 2 includes voice flute 2)

Rental Parts (2023)
Set of 20 partbooks: 0201 1300 timp.  33221 chorus (ob. 1 includes flute; ob. 2 includes tamburino; vn. 1 has tamburino cues)

Rental Parts (2023)
Set of 15 partbooks: 0201 0000 33221 chorus
Johann Sigismund Kusser (or, as he was known in England and Ireland, John Sigismond Cousser), was a Hungarian-born musician who, after a varied and successful career in the German-speaking lands of the Holy Roman Empire, settled in Ireland in July 1707. In Dublin Kusser composed and directed the performances of at least twenty-one festive serenatas that marked important state occasions in Dublin between 1709 and his death in late 1727. Presented before the elite of local society in semistaged productions featuring costumes, stage machinery, and dancing, these works functioned as something of an operatic substitute in the city’s cultural life. The contents of the present volume comprise the three serenatas for which music remains extant. Two of these can be proven definitively to be of Kusser’s own composition, and the third, due to its musical style, overall structure, and subject matter, is almost certainly his creation as well. These works provide remarkably rare musical evidence of a key component of the artistic offerings of Dublin’s viceregal court during the early decades of the eighteenth century.
The Universal Applause of Mount Parnassus: Serenata da camera (1711)
No. 1. Recitativo—Aria (Apollo): “Such harmony as crowns th’Olympic revels—Tuneful virgins, all assisting”
No. 2. A Ground (Nine Muses, Apollo, SSATB): “No other than immortal lays”
No. 3. [Menuet]
No. 4. Recitativo—Aria (Calliope): “She climbs the highest pyramid of Glory—Anna’s deathless acts rehearsing”
No. 5. Recitativo—Aria (Clio): “Whilst Providence supports her—Future ages”
No. 6. Recitativo—Aria (Erato): “She shines with heav’nly graces—British ladies’ matchless charms”
No. 7. Chorus (Calliope, Clio, Thalia, Melpomene, Terpsichore, SSATB): “The bold Britons from field, when returned”
No. 8. Recitativo—Aria (Thalia): “Her pleasing aspect charmeth!—In Fortune’s chariot riding”
No. 9. Recitativo—Aria (Melpomene): “Her conqu’ring arms implored—Our Britain never gain’d”
No. 10. Recitativo—Aria (Terpsichore): “Let her but wish, and Fortune crowns her wishes—Fortune caressing, great Anna inspiring”
No. 11. Chorus (Erato, Terpsichore, Apollo, SSATB): “True Loyalty’s all shining”
No. 12. Recitativo—Aria (Euterpe): “These tides of joy o’erflowing—Laurels that adorn her”
No. 13. Recitativo—Aria (Polymnia): “How many ways she conquers!—Brightest star that e’er adorned”
No. 14. Recitativo—Aria (Urania): “Oh! Could she ever stay!—Britain fear to lose her glory”
No. 15. [Recitativo]—Aria à 2 (Nine Muses, Apollo): “By reason Anna steereth—While the wheels of Time are moving”
No. 16. Chorus (Tutti): “When heroes their brav’ry in field have displayed”
An Idylle on the Peace: Serenata theatrale (1713)
No. 1. Aria (Peace): “Happy queen, in whose calm bosom”
No. 2. Recitativo—Aria (Discord, Peace): “Sigh on, sad Peace—Conquering legions”
No. 3. [Scena] (Discord, Peace): “Those moans you make are useless”
No. 4. Aria (Victory): “Come, lovely Peace, the conqu’ror calls”
No. 5. [Scena] (Peace, Discord, Victory): “Ah! How my joys are doubled!”
No. 6. Recitativo—Aria (Discord): “How cruel is this slav’ry!—Sad Despair, forever seize me”
No. 7. Recitativo—Aria (Discord, Victory): “How cruel is this slav’ry!—Within the gloomy vaults of hell”
No. 8. Recitativo—Aria (Victory, Peace): “Thou dire abode, change to a fairer prospect—Her glories increase”
No. 9. Marche
No. 10. Aria à 2 (Felicity, Plenty): “While the blind fury of wars was alarming”
No. 11. Chorus (SSATB): “Behold, they have laid by their engines of war”
No. 12. Recitativo—Aria (Mercury): “These happy times are owing all to Anna—Unequal’d is her story”
No. 13. Grand Chorus (SSATB): “Blessings so divine dispensed”
No! He’s Not Dead!: Serenata à 4 (ca. 1707–14)
No. 1. Recitativo—Aria (Fame): “No! He’s not dead!—I’ll blaze abroad his glory”
No. 2. Recitativo—Aria (Neptune): “What meant the Fates too prodigal to Nassau?—Still in endless toils embarrass’d”
No. 3. Recitativo—Aria (Albania): “Almost oppress’d with Romish superstition—Britons, strew his tomb with flowers”
No. 4. Recitativo—Aria (Apollo): “His wisdom join’d with courage—Though Envy often baffled”
No. 5. Chorus (SATB): “While the happy British nation”
No. 6. Recitativo—Aria (Fame): “His mighty prowess Belgia’s plains can witness—Glorious Nassau’s lasting name”
No. 7. Recitativo—Aria (Neptune): “I saw the godlike hero—Opposition Courage raises”
No. 8. Recitativo—Aria (Albania): “Unluckily deluded, I let Rome’s locusts settle—He the paths of Glory treading”
No. 9. Recitativo—Aria (Apollo): “His godlike mind could never lie unactive—Great queen of isles”
No. 10. Chorus (Fame, Albania, SATB): “None the secret art to reign”