La chute de Phaéton, comédie en musique (1694)

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
La chute de Phaéton, comédie en musique (1694)
An Opera Parody by Marc-Antoine Legrand of Jean-Baptiste Lully’s Phaéton

Edited by Natasha Roule

B233 La chute de Phaéton, comédie en musique (1694)
978-1-9872-0822-1 Full Score (2022) 9x12, xxx + 89 pp.

Performance Parts (Available Separately)

Rental Parts (2023)
Set of 25 parts: ob. 1, ob. 2, bn., dessus de violon 1 (x4), dessus de violon 2 (x4), haute-contre de violon (x4), taille de violon (x3), quinte de violon (x3), basse de violon (x2), b.c., choeur (unbound)
Marc-Antoine Legrand’s La chute de Phaéton, comédie en musique (1694) is the only surviving opera parody from France that was written outside of Paris in the seventeenth century. Part spoken theater and part musical drama, Legrand’s work sets excerpts of Jean-Baptiste Lully’s Phaéton to a narrative about a troupe of musicians in the city of Lyon who try to rescue their failing opera company from financial collapse. Based on actual events, La chute de Phaéton cleverly transforms Lully’s moral lessons on the disastrous consequences of hubris into a scathing commentary on the opera industry—and on the genre of opera itself. The musical portion amounts to approximately thirty minutes of performance time and includes dances, choruses, récitatifs, and airs, making it an ideal tool for introducing students to French baroque music as well as for offering an opportunity of creative exploration for those more experienced with the repertoire.
Natasha Roule (Ph.D., Harvard University) writes on French baroque opera, particularly the tragédies en musique of Jean-Baptiste Lully. A recipient of the Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship and the Irene Alm Memorial Prize from the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music, she has taught at George Mason University.