My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Lasso: Complete Motets 11

Orlando di Lasso
The Complete Motets 11
Liber mottetarum trium vocum (Munich, 1575); Novae aliquot, ad duas voces cantiones (Munich, 1577)
Edited by Peter Bergquist
Lasso: Complete Motets 11
Full Score (1995)
8.5x11, xx + 119 pp.

Availability: In stock

Among Lasso's best known and most widely circulated works are two sets of motets that were composed explicitly for recreational and didactic purposes. Adam Berg published the _Liber motettarum trium vocum_ in 1575, and then he added three more trios to the original fifteen in a 1577 reissue. The _Novae aliquot, ad duas voces cantiones,_ which appeared in 1577, contains twelve texted and twelve textless duos; the latter may be the only instrumental music that Lasso ever wrote, though vocal performance is also possible. The mainly religious texts in both books were presumably chosen largely to provide edification along with recreation or instruction. The three-voice motets might also be used as service music.
Liber mottetarum trium vocum
1. Haec quae ter triplici
2. Domine, non est exaltatum cor meum
3. Ego sum resurrectio et vita
4. Laetatus sum
5. Deus, tu scis insipientiam meam
6. Ego sum pauper et dolens
7. Exaudi me, Domine
8. Exaudi, Deus, orationem meam
9. Sancta et immaculata virginitas
10. Cantate Domino canticum novum
11. Christus resurgens ex mortuis
12. Ego dixi: Domine, miserere mei
13. O Maria, clausus hortus
14. Beati omnes qui timent Dominum
15. Ave Regina caelorum
16. Domine Deus meus, in te speravi
17. Justus es Domine
18. Diligam te, Domine
Novae aliquot, ad duas voces cantiones
1. Beatus vir qui in sapienta morabitur
2. Beatus homo qui invenit sapientiam
3. Oculus non vidit
4. Justus cor suum tradet
5. Expectatio justorum laetitia
6. Qui sequitur me
7. Justi tulerunt spolia impiorum
8. Sancti mei
9. Qui vult venire post me
10. Serve bone et fidelis
11. Fulgebunt justi sicut lilium
12. Sicut rosa inter spinas
12 untexted pieces
Jessie Ann Owens, Notes, March 1999; Christine de Catanzaro, Choral Journal, December 1996; Edward Wickham, Early Music Today, April/May 1997
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions