My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Lasso: Complete Motets 15

Orlando di Lasso
The Complete Motets 15
Cantica sacra sex et octo vocibus (Munich, 1585)
Edited by David Crook
Lasso: Complete Motets 15
Full Score (1999)
8.5x11, xxvi + 138 pp.

Availability: In stock

Adam Berg issued Lasso's Cantica sacra sex et octo vocibus almost simultaneously with the four-voice motets found in CM 14. The concluding eight-voice motet, "Omnia tempus habent," draws its dialogue structure from that of the text itself and includes abundant word-painting. The fifteen six-voice motets are each outstanding in this and other ways. Most set scriptural or liturgical texts, while "Huc ades, o Erneste" is in honor of the younger brother of Duke Wilhelm V of Bavaria. For the responsory "Angelus Domini descendit de caelo" Lasso later added three-voice settings of the verse and doxology. These are preserved in a manuscript and appear in this edition along with the original two-part motet. Two settings of psalm verses, "Memor esto verbi tui" and "Domine, da nobis auxilium," reveal something of the range of Lasso's approaches to text setting. The former is concise and illustrates its text vividly, while the latter unfolds in a more leisurely manner.
1. Pater noster, qui es in caelis
2. Regina caeli laetare
3. Memor esto verbi tui
4. Angelus Domini descendit de caelo
5. Domine, non est exaltatum cor meum
6. Haec est vera fraternitas
7. Omnis enim homo
8. Oculi mei semper ad Dominum
9. Quam pulchra es, et quam decora
10. Domine, da nobis auxilium
11. Fratres, gaudete in Domino
12. In religione homo vivit
13. Huc ades, o Erneste
14. Andreas, Christi famulus
15. Conveniens homini est
16. Omnia tempus habent
© 2019 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions