My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Lasso: Complete Motets 4

Orlando di Lasso
The Complete Motets 4
Motets for Six Voices from Primus liber concentum sacrorum (Paris, 1564); Motets for Four to Ten Voices from Modulorum secundum volumen (Paris, 1565)
Edited by Peter Bergquist
Lasso: Complete Motets 4
Full Score (1996)
8.5x11, xxiv + 224 pp.

Availability: In stock

The firm of Adrian Le Roy and Robert Ballard in Paris was by far the most prolific publisher of Lasso's music in his lifetime. From 1559 on they included his music in their chanson books, but their first publication devoted entirely to Lasso was the Primus liber concentuum sacrorum of 1564 for five and six voices, followed in 1565 by the Modulorum . . .4-10 vocum secundum volumen. Most of the 1564 book was reprinted from Lasso's 1556 and 1562 motet books, but it included three first editions, and twenty-one of the twenty-five motets in the 1565 book were new. With only a few exceptions, the texts of these motets are sacred, many from psalms or psalm verses, including "Laudate Dominum de caelis," the setting of Psalms 148 and 150 that also concludes Lasso's cycle of the Penitential Psalms. In "Laudate Dominum" and two other pieces in this volume, Lasso produced motets that are more than twice as long as any he had previously composed. These grand pieces contrast with intimate music such as the expressive setting of "Tristis est anima mea."
Three Motets from "Primus liber concentuum sacrorum"
1. Surge, propera, amica mea
2. Quare tristis es, anima mea?
3. O mors, quam amara est memoria tua
Twenty-one Motets from "Modulorum secundum volumen"
1. Cognovi, Domine
2. Iniquos odio habui
3. Deus, in nomine tuo
4. Beatus vir qui timet Dominum
5. Laudate Dominum de caelis
6. Quis valet eloquio
7. Tristis est anima mea
8. Benedicite omnia opera Domini Domino
9. Deus noster refugium
10. Ut radios edit rutilo
11. Bonitatem fecisti
12. Beati omnes qui timent Dominum
13. Quis mihi, quis tete rapuit
14. Animam meam dilectam tradidi
15. Tu Domine benignus es
16. Pater noster, qui es in caelis
17. Jubilate Deo omnis terra
18. Beatus qui intelligit
19. In omnibus requiem quaesivi
20. In convertendo
21. Quo properas, facunde nepos Atlantis?
Jessie Ann Owens, Notes, March 1999
© 2020 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions