My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Lasso: Seven Penitential Psalms and Laudate Dominum

Orlando di Lasso
The Seven Penitential Psalms and Laudate Dominum de caelis
Edited by Peter Bergquist
Lasso: Seven Penitential Psalms and Laudate Dominum
Full Score (1990)
8.5x11, xxviii + 200 pp.

Availability: In stock

Lasso's penitential psalms, probably his most famous compositions, have not heretofore appeared in a critical edition based on both extant sources, the sumptuous manuscript (Mus. Ms. A) in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Munich, and the 1584 partbooks published by Adam Berg in Munich. Lasso revised portions of the original version (probably composed ca. 1560) which the psalms were published, and the present edition prints both versions separately when they differ significantly. It also includes the psalm "Laudate Dominum de caelis," which appears in both sources and which Lasso intended as an integral part of the cycle of penitential psalms.
I. Domine, ne in furore tuo . . . Miserere
II. Beati quorum remissae sunt iniquitates
III. Domine, ne in furore tuo . . . Quoniam
IV. Miserere mei, Deus
V. Domine exaudi orationem meam: et clamor meus
VI. De profundis clamavi ad te Domine
VII. Domine exaudi orationem meam: auribus percipe

Laudate Dominum de caelis
Jessie Ann Owens, Notes, June 1992; Barbara Haggh, Early Music, May 1992
© 2019 All Rights Reserved A-R Editions