Lasso: Virginalia Eucharistica (1615)

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
Click for samples
Rudolph di Lasso
Virginalia Eucharistica (1615)

Edited by Alexander J. Fisher

B114 Lasso: Virginalia Eucharistica (1615)
978-0-89579-498-7 Full Score (2002) 9x12, xxii + 272 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts

Instrumental Part(s) (2002)
Set of 4 parts (cn.; trb. 1; trb. 2; trb. 3)
This edition of the Virginalia Eucharistica (Munich, 1615) by Rudolph di Lasso (ca. 1563–ca. 1626), one of the sons of the famous Munich kapellmeister Orlando di Lasso, offers a window into the evolution of sacred composition in early baroque Germany. Consisting of forty-three settings of mostly Marian texts for one to eight voices and basso continuo, the Virginalia Eucharistica demonstrates Rudolph’s engagement with the emerging Italian concertato idiom, blended liberally with traditional polyphonic textures and polychoral practices derived from Venetian models. The result is a diverse array of works ranging from virtuosic sacred monodies to antiphonal double-choir compositions, enlivened by inventive and unusual vocal textures. Beyond its musical significance, the Virginalia Eucharistica also vividly reflects the Marian cult of the Bavarian court, a German bastion of the Catholic Counter-Reformation in the early seventeenth century.
1. Sancta et immaculata
2. Ne timeas, Maria
3. Rorate caeli desuper
4. Beata es Maria
5. O Emmanuel
6. Mirabile mysterium
7. O Maria clausus ortus
8. O intemerata   
9. Ave virgo gratiosa
10. Memento salutis auctor
11. Rubum quem viderat Moyses
12. Puer Jesus
13. Fili, quid fecisti nobis sic?
14. Ave Maria, gratia plena
15. Quae est ista
16. O admirabile commercium
17. Germinavit radix Jesse
18. Ecce Maria genuit nobis
19. Regina caeli laetare
20. Veni Sancte Spiritus
21. Ego sum panis vivus
22. O Jesu benignissime
23. Pulchra es, o Maria
24. Ave Maria, ancilla sanctae trinitatis
25. Alma Redemptoris Mater
26. Ave Regina caelorum
27. Regina caeli laetare
28. Salve, Regina
29. Quando natus es
30. O salutaris Hostia
31. Regina caeli laetare
32. O Domina mea
33. Regina caeli laetare
34. Ave Maria, gratia plena
35. Nuptiae factae sunt
36. Recordare Jesu pie
37. O peccator
38. Judica, Domine
39. Sub tuum praesidium
40. Ave Regina caelorum
41. Vide homo, quae pro te patior
42. Fit porta Christi pervia
43. Litaniae Lauretanae
Clifford Bartlett, Early Music Review, May 2002; Jeremy Summerly, Early Music, November 2002