Leclair: Sonatas for Violin, Op. 5, Nos. 1–5

Series: Baroque Era  Publisher: A-R Editions
This edition is part of the collection Leclair: Complete Violin Sontatas
This volume is part of the set Leclair: Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo
Click for samples
Jean-Marie Leclair
Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo, Opus 5, Sonatas I–V

Edited by Robert E. Preston

B004 Leclair: Sonatas for Violin, Op. 5, Nos. 1–5
978-0-89579-008-8 Full Score (1968) 9x12, xxix + 77 pp.
In stock

Performance Parts

Instrumental Part(s) (1968)
Set of 3 parts (vn.; vc.; offprint of commentary on ornamentation, bowing, and editorial practice)
Published in 1734, Leclair's opus 5 sonatas were dedicated to Louis XV. This is the first modern edition of this set of sonatas, interesting for their use of bimodality and their level of technical difficulty.
Opus 5
Sonata I in A Major
Sonata II in F Major
Sonata III in E Minor
Sonata IV in B-flat Major
Sonata V in B Minor
J.A. Westrup, Music & Letters, October 1965; Revue de Musicologie, 1971; Researches in French Classical Music, 1972